So, what about favorites like hamburgers?

One of the hardest things for many people is giving up the comfort foods, the familiar foods, the high fat, high sugar foods that we are used to to satisfy our mouth hunger.  I am fortunate to live in a city where veggie burgers are often on the menus and almost every hamburger place in town offers a veggie burger option.  My challenge is that many vegetarian options are made from soy–tofu or Textured Vegetable Protein, which I cannot eat.  But, there are some options available that are made from whole grains and just vegetables.  And, there are some wonderful options for vegetarian burgers at home, either commercially prepared or home made.

Morningstar Farms

My favorite commercially prepared veggie burger used to be  from Morningstar Farms called the spicy black bean burger.  It can be grilled, broiled or fried. But, unfortunately, it contains soy and wheat gluten.

But, you can easily make your own that doesn’t include those ingredients if you want.  If you make the bean patties yourself, they are easy, freeze well and can make a healthy, hearty quick meal or snack.  Plus they are cheap. Put it on a spelt or gluten free toasted bun with tomato, lettuce, avocado and mustard, it is delicious. Add some potato chips and cabbage slaw with vinaigrette, a few pickles to top it off, and it is wonderfully satisfying.

I love Chinese food, but some of my favorite dishes can be challenging because of the noodles.  Fortunately, there are many alternatives to traditional wheat pasta, especially in the Oriental food isle.  I love fried rice and but Lomein is also a favorite.  And, it can be made with soba noodles (which are made with buckwheat, which really isn’t related to wheat).  It is easy, and best of all, inexpensive.  

Like most of us, I eat on a budget, so easy, inexpensive dishes are great for me.  It is important that I be able to eat healthy, still afford the food and support our planet.  These meals do that.

And, finally, my favorite party or large gathering dish (but it can just as easily serve one).  It is made up of whatever sounds good to you at the time and/or you have leftover in the frige.  I call it the Baja bowl (but Sherry eats it in a tortilla too.) Add some chips and guacamole and you have a meal fit for a restaurant!

So, while lettuce made a brief appearance, and it will come back occasionally, it is so exciting to me to realize I can healthy and have a huge variety of foods in my diet.  I hope some of you will share some of your favorite healthy recipes as well.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “So, what about favorites like hamburgers?”

  1. Alexander Mrotek Says:

    This is actually great post. I am going to certainly come again more often. It’s also possible to test this website about Healthy Dieting.

Leave a Reply

