Taking back my health

I have discovered an interesting phenomenon.  I discovered that, even though I consciously decided I wanted to be healthier and more energetic and to just plain feel better, I was stuck in actions that did not support that result.  And I would become very frustrated at myself and my lack of will power and my “laziness”, but that didn’t motivate me to change anything.  I suspect I am not the only person to experience this.

So, I wondered, why do I say I want it and I really believe I want it, yet won’t do anything about it?  And, I came up with many different answers to that question.

  • I don’t know where to start.
  • I am so confused with so many people giving such different advice
  • I am just too tired
  • I am too old to do the things I used to do.
  • I don’t want to hurt myself
  • It really isn’t important in the scheme of things
  • If I can just accept myself where I am, I should be happy and things will happen naturally.

I am sure you can think of others.

But, I knew all those answers weren’t the truth.  I knew because I had been faced with a life threatening illness-cancer.  And I knew that many of the factors that can lead to cancer were factors I had–sedentary life style, obese, poor sleeping habits, high sugar intake, high stress.  I did have some things in my favor, however.  I had, and still have, a strong support network and community that allows me to be real, a taste for and desire to make healthy foods, and an understanding of how important all the things I was missing were to my health. Still, a year after my cancer treatment, I had not taken action to change the things that could help prevent the cancer from recurring and I had to ask myself–why?

Over the next year I am challenging myself to take action on those things that I know do not support my health and I am going to share my journey in the hopes it can help others join me on the journey to take back our health.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Taking back my health”

  1. Paul Says:

    It’s great that you have made this decision. I did the same thing a year ago this month. In that time I have lost 50 lbs and have gotten off of my cholesterol meds. My doctor told me a few weeks ago that I am now “physically fit”.

    I would say that the first thing is this, go slow and don’t give up! There will be peeks and valleys along the way but you will make progress if you just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

    Join a gym!! The hardest thing about getting into shape is getting started and if you go to the gym every day, you will work out while you’re there! When you join, have them set you up with a workout regimen, this will be tailor made for you and most gyms include the first one for FREE.

    Don’t just do aerobic exorcize, you need strength training as well. Muscle burns calories, fat doesn’t so it’s VERY important to build muscle. The more muscle you build, the faster you will burn calories.

    When it comes to eating, just cut back a little bit at a time. Don’t go starving yourself because your body will begin to “store” those few calories you do take in because it’s STARVING. Eat a small breakfast a medium to large lunch and a small dinner. If you want a snack between meals, make it a light one like a piece of fruit. I really like the frozen fruit bars at HEB!!

    I hope these few tips help you out. The best of luck to you and don’t forget, DON’T GIVE UP!!

    • prohealthguide Says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement. Last year I joined a gym and even went for a little while, but then i got sick and just didn’t start back again. This year am beginning to work out and it is slow going. I will keep posting updates along the way. Also, having accountability is a big thing for me. By posting my progress, or lack thereof, on this blog, it makes me feel accountable, not just to myself, but also potentially to anyone who might read the blog. So, thanks for responding so I know at least one other person is reading it:)

    • prohealthguide Says:

      The words of encouragement have been very helpful. I have begun training with a team for the Danskin Triathlon in June. I can safely say, it is whipping my butt (in the case of the biking, literally). I am exhausted but feeling empowered and stronger and thank you. I look forward in a year to being off medications and feeling like I can handle a sudden energy expenditure, etc. It helps to know people who have done it.

  2. Mary Ann Says:

    bravo, michelle! i’m looking forward to reading about your journey. i’ve been through quite an adventurous health journey for a few years, too much to go into here. blogging about daily meditation does make me feel more accountable for doing it! i also do a couple of crazy things every day that i believe help me get unstuck: i roll my eyes in each direction and move them randomly (because eye movements often reflect stuck strategies) and i tap my scalp and face, my chest, and my belly (lazy EFT).

    • prohealthguide Says:

      So, is the eye movement exercises based on EFT or tapping or another technique. I would love to more about this.

  3. LaurieLynn Says:

    Find a “work out” partner to be accountable to–not to your partner though. I got into great shape for about a year and a half when I first lived in Austin because my next door neighbor and I made a pact to meet at 6:30 am (yes, you read that right–she had to be to work by 8:30) and walk down to Stacy Pool from Eva Street (with our dogs on leashes), swim, then walk back. Knowing she was up and waiting for me, made me get up and going, and she said the same thing happened to her. I found this didn’t work with my housemate–so I think it’s important to find someone you don’t live with to be accountable WITH for exercise.

    And I support you 110%!!

Leave a Reply

